Learning Danish – Common words

BrugeImage

bruge/brug – to use.

Det er skik og brug – (it is the custom).

bruge op – (use up)

smørret er brugt op – (the butter is finished).

Hint: Pronounce ‘br’ at the back of the throat, almost like ‘pu’ in pull, or ‘poo’ in poor. Silent g.

Burde

burde– should, ought to. Skulle also means should. D is NOT silent

Hint: Burde is prounounced something like Bore dare in Australian English

Det burde du ikke gøre – (you should not do that).

Ved

Det ved du godt – You know that well. A common phrase in Denmark

ved is prounounced ‘vel’ as ‘d’ again is silent.

Jeg ved det ikke. Det ved jeg ikke.  (I don’t know. That I don’t know)

vidste – Knew; silent ‘D’, of course!

HOLDE

holde – hold. Pronounce like Holler, as ‘d’ is silent. Hold in Danish means ‘team’

SYNES syntes

synes– thinks, or seems.

Jeg synes, hun er fræk. (I think he is naughty). Jeg synes, mit hold vil vinde. (I think my team will win)

Jeg synes, svaner er flotte. (I think the swans are pretty or elegant).

Ja, det synes jeg også. (Yes, I also think that).

Nej, det synes jeg ikke. (No, I don’t think that).

Det synes det om.. – (It seems as if..)

I welcome any native speakers to contribute here and point out the finer differences in using synes or tror or tænke. Tror is used when you might want to use the meaning of the English word, Believe. But a native speaker may be able to clarify that for me.

Enes, Eneste

enes – agree  (bit of a vulgar meme, but it might help me remember: pronounced like ‘penis’ without the “p”)

eneste – only  or single kun – also means only

det eneste der kom – (the only one who came)

hver eneste dag – (every single day)

Some Danish words for beginners of this language to ponder on, today.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Danish, education, Language and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning Danish – Common words

  1. cocoaupnorth says:

    Fascinating language.

    Like

Comments are closed.