Learning Danish – useful expressions for beginners

When one starts to learn Danish, the easiest things to remember are the basic greetings on special occasions.

Farvel – Farewell Har det godt – Goodbye, literally “Have it good”, whilst   Norwegians say Har det bra in the same way.

Tilykke – Congratulations!Viking carving, Jelling, Denmark

Tillykke med fødselsdagen – Happy Birthday

Glædelig jul – Merry Christmas ( silent D)  God jul – Norwegian or Swedish for Merry Christmas

Glad Påske – Happy Easter

Undskyld – Excuse me, said in the usual circumstances one would use this expression in English. Notwithstanding the fact that in Denmark, this expression is not heard, as often,when pushing past someone in a crowded place.

Det er jeg ked af. – I’m sorry .

Ked has a soft ‘d’ so ked af it sounds a bit like ‘kil(soft d) ay!’

Some things to ponder about if you are wanting to learn Danish.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Danish, Denmark, education, Language, Vikings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.