Reducing salt intake: what can we do?

Do you get affected by salt? After trying to reduce my salt intake for several years, I now suffer a bad headache the day after a meal that is heavily salted, such as pizza with olives, or anchovies, or fish n chips!

jennovafoodblog

Not a whole lot is new with me… just continuing to write a lot for the new magazine I’ve been working for while climbing as much as possible in Kentucky. Feeling quite a bit stronger lately- happy to see some performance improvements :). I was also featured as a ‘weekend warrior’ on the Glacier National Park website! Pretty cool I think :)! Here’s the link! http://www.glacier-national-park-travel-guide.com/weekend-warriors-july-24th-2013.html

Here’s a picture of me climbing at Torrent Falls in the Red :).
rrg 152

This article can also be found on the Sunwarrior website 🙂 http://www.sunwarrior.com/news/reducing-salt-intake-what-can-we-do/

Sodium chloride, aka salt, is the most commonly consumed mineral by humans. It is required daily for survival (approximately 500mg), with an exquisite system to ensure its consumption: cravings. Since virtually everyone has about one to two times more salt than what’s needed, the above cravings are unlikely to be driving the current consumption levels, which can be largely…

View original post 1,012 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Food, Health, Nutrition, Vitamins and Minerals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.