Learning Danish – Extending your Vocabulary

Every so often I can across a word that is fairly basic, yet I have not seen it before.

Here are a couple of examples of complaints, interjections and rumour:

jamen – but (as an interjection!)

Jamen, er det dig!

Well, if it isn’t you!

Jamen, hør nu!

But, listen now!

Den gamle By, Denmark

jamre – verb: wail moan

jammerlig- adj, wretched, miserable, wailing

(ynkelig) jammerlig – (pitiful) pathetic ynkelig jammer – pitiful wailing

Jammer – misery; (klager– complaining) moaning

klage – complaint: verb to complain

indsende en klage over en  hund.

– lodge (send in) a complaint about a dog

klage skrivelse – written complaint.

skriftlig klage – letter of complaint.

Efter en nat på ynkelig jammer, vil Kai gerne indgive en skriftlig klage over naboens hund

After a night of pitiful wailing, Kai would like to submit a letter of complaint about his neighbour’s dog.

Will Kai Complain? Something for all of us that are trying to familiarise ourselves with Danish, to ponder about.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Danish, education, Language and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Learning Danish – Extending your Vocabulary

  1. Mariane says:

    Aye !! … Jamen is actually TWO words ja = yes – men = But – and also the meaning of Jamen can actually reach the sky so to speak because it is said in so many situations and have that many meanings as well 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much Mariane! I see now the ‘Yes, but’! I must have heard it so many times, but not realized. I would love to hear some more examples!

      Like

    • Mariane says:

      My Pleasure 😀 – if you like to have some words then write an email? mariane add cordes dot re because I can’t find any words by hand – I am a Danish Dane that speaks Danish and live in Denmark – thihi.. and in daily life I am not thinking of situation like this. Sure I will love to help though 😀

      Like

    • Oh thanks so much Mariane. I would love another native speaker to bounce my draft posts to. My other Danish tutor is offline for an extended period, so I am going it alone! I do appreciate any corrections and additions. I will send you a post in the near future, and welcome any comment you might have.

      Like

  2. scrapydo says:

    Afrikaans again:
    written complaint = skriftelike(skrivelse) klagte(klage) then also hund= hond(afr)
    Interesting!

    Like

Comments are closed.