Proverbs (and Quotes) from around the World

Each Thursday I post a proverb or a poignant quote or saying.

Mostly they are anonymous words, uttered by persons in ages past, and sometimes so full of wisdom, they almost jump off the screen at you. (a slight exaggeration, but use your imagination!)

Much can be learned from these few words.

Norwegian Proverb

Another’s horse is always strong.
Annan manns hest er alltid sterk

Stalheim

And some quotes that feel pertinent today:

March on, and fear not the thorns, or the sharp stones on life’s path. Khalil Gibran

Lack of direction, not lack of time, is the bigger problem
– we all have twenty-four hour days
(Zig Ziglar – american author, coach and speaker)

The road ahead is often something I ponder about.

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Proverbs (and Quotes) from around the World

  1. ae.i says:

    Though sometimes the direction is so good that I’d like more time to enjoy 🙂

    Like

  2. Viking Queen says:

    As usual… Wonderful wisdom!

    Like

  3. I like all these quotes but most of all I like the Norwegian horse proverb. It’s like saying “the grass is always greener,” isn’t it?
    The accompanying photo is awesome! In what location was that hotel?

    Like

    • Thanks! The hotel was located in Stalheim, Norway, not far from Voss. A fantastic location. Kaiser Wilhelm of Germany used to holiday there. And yes the grass is greener is similar, I think.

      Like

Comments are closed.