Amazing Mailboxes around the world

Madoqua of “Have you ever” blog started a challenge to find unusual mailboxes from around the world, as the need for mailboxes seems to be fading fast. A number of people have found some quite amazing samples and posted them on Madoqua’s blog.

Scrapydo posted some on her blog and led me to discover this challenge, so I thought I would find contribute too. Click here to see the original post that started it all.

In my neighbourhood, there is one that is like a Norwegian ‘hytte’ (or cabin in the mountains) It even has a turf roof. The fence, however, jolts you back into suburban Australia…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and one in Denmark:

IMG_8154

The following photo was posted by a friend on facebook:

mailbox

 

A unique kind of decoration. Something to ponder about.

Amazing mailbox contributions:

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Australia, Community, New Zealand, Recycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Amazing Mailboxes around the world

  1. scrapydo says:

    Love them, glad you got inspired! 🙂

    Like

  2. gpcox says:

    The island of Broad Channel, New York has some unique mailboxes you might want to check into.

    Like

  3. Madoqua says:

    What terrific mailboxes, so pleased we could add them to our collection!
    Anyone else who knows of any unusual or creative mailboxes, please feel free to participate in this fun venture!

    Like

Comments are closed.