Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV

What a ceiling!

Say It With A Camera

What’s the best way to show the beautiful features of the ceiling in a 12th century building?

I’ve just got back from a short trip to Tewkesbury and the Cotswolds. The abbey at Tewkesbury is one of the best religious buildings I have ever photographed and the Cotswolds is famous for its areas of outstanding natural beauty. But for this weeks challenge I’m going to show you a photograph taken in the abbey.

Weekly Photo Challenge: POV

The Abbey Church of St Mary the Virgin, Tewkesbury, (commonly known as Tewkesbury Abbey), in the English county of Gloucestershire, is the second largest parish church in the country and a former Benedictine monastery. It is one of the finest examples of Norman architecture in Britain, and has probably the largest Romanesquecrossing tower in Europe.

Walking round the abbey, you can find so much to photograph, I spent nearly 5 hours…

View original post 390 more words

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV

  1. Pingback: Unusual Point of View Provided by the Iroquois Nation and This Week’s Gone-Viral-Eagle-Soaring-You-Tube COULD be a Metaphor for Congress. (A 420 Character 9 Line Poem by Patty) | Words We Women Write

  2. Mary says:

    Gorgeous shot! Love your way of perspektive!

    Like

Comments are closed.