Seven From Scandinavia

Childrens’ reads – Scandinavian themes

lovingeveryleaf

 

During this last 2012-2013 school year, my boys and I read a significant number of books.  Most of them were excellent.  I am thankful that some of them were responsible for turning S on to reading for the sheer pleasure of it.  Unwittingly, we read several books with Scandinavian settings.  Were we subconsiously drawn to the frigid northern climes once we slid down the steep mountains with Norwegian youth, or was this collection pure coincidence?  I am not sure, but here are a few fantastic reads if you wish to visit Norway or Denmark, if only through children’s literature.

Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan – It is not often we happen upon a book that is equally celebrated by A and S both.  A wants to stick strictly to realistic or historical fiction; S needs adventure.  This book fits both criteria.  Snow Treasure details the true story of how…

View original post 836 more words

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.