Personal faith versus Public Religion

Where is the boundary drawn?

Do the public institutions of religion enhance or restrict the evolution and development of personal faith?

If a person becomes ‘enlightened’, do they really need the guidance and advice of clergy who carry their own opinionated dogma and experience? Can the clergy really provide an impartial view?

The hypocrisy of a cleric extolling the virtue of living a simplistic life, and assisting the poor and needy, and deriding selfishness, whilst living himself in grandiose surroundings grates against my craw, especially when I see the wealth that exists in the churches of the old religions.

Tele-evangelists don’t always seem to have a ‘good grasp’ either. They encourage their congregations to pray for a new car or for money for this or that desired possession. Is that the true purpose of becoming a spiritual person?  So as you can attain more material wealth, and then by supposedly guaranteeing your place in the eternal hereafter? Should their guidance for us be more of a ‘spiritual’ kind?

Where does caring, compassion and trying to be a better person fit in the prayers of material wealth?

Finding one’s inner strength and using that to better the conditions of one’s life and those around us, sits better with my values and what I view religion or faith to be. The dogma of God first, others second and me last does not always seem to universally apply to public religion.

Perhaps St Francis had the right path, or the Dalai lama?

Something to ponder about…..

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Personal faith versus Public Religion

  1. Viking Queen says:

    Amanda, check out the tenets of Gnostic Christianity if you have time especially the triple goddess. Sophia, Mary amd Mary Magdalen. Regarded as heresy by the male dominated church for centuries, and still I believe.

    Like

    • There is a lot there to take in, and it will take time to read it all. I have not heard of this before, so this is something new. Thank you for introducing me, and many of the beliefs, are in synchrony with my own. I’ll follow up some more.

      Like

  2. I agree with everythihg you said! Even as a kid, (before I knew anything of accumulating wealth/investments) I was struck by the difference between our parish Rectory and my house and those of my friends.
    I think there are lots of reasons organized religion exists, but few of them have anything to do with living a good life!

    Like

    • Thank you Karen for your comment. It is such a shame this is often the case. I don’t wish to belittle the fact that the church does a lot of good in some areas, but the many instances of abuse and hypocrisy really makes one cynical about their motives.

      Like

Comments are closed.