What You Were Taught About Success Is Wrong.

Vince Lombardi, whoever he was, ( will have to google that) was spot on when he referred to ‘Will’.
Motivation or will, this intangible thing called ‘drive’ or even ambition, makes an incredible difference to how successful some people are. Some people are clever, really clever, some are strong, they might be very strong, but if they lack the will, they may never be successful by anyone’s definition. But would they realise this themselves, or would their definition of success, still mean that they had been successful? Successful in avoiding responsibility, or successful in living their own lives, just how they wanted, as opposed to being measured and critiqued by other’s and those people’s own individual opinions? Still, I ponder long about motivation, where and how it comes or doesn’t come, to pass. The sense of contributing something to the work or family or societal environment seems to be a salient point in feeling a sense of contentment, worth (and perhaps, individual sense of success).

I don’t feel successful in my work – if measured by paycheck. But I do feel very contented in my work.

Successful in my career? Probably not, as my paycheck went backwards, but again: this is a financial measure. In terms of contentment, happiness, fulfillment, and (considering some of the jobs I have done), my sanity, utterly successful. This is the job I don’t want to leave until I retire.
How will I know I am successful?
Well this depends on your criteria, entirely, which brings us back to the same instrospection of what your personal definition is…

Have you pondered your measure of success? What would your answers’ to Doug’s questions be?

Doug Does Life

The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather a lack of will. ~Vince Lombardi

The Inner Critic lives!

What defines success to you? If you’re like most people, your definition was formed by your parents and society. This definition is internalized and became the measuring stick that our inner critic uses to prove what failures we are.

Our families are the major contributor to our subconscious idea of success… My family measures success with money.

“How much does it pay?”, “He’s doing well”, and “She has a great job” are common conversation openers when it comes to success. Eventually, this leads to “I hate my job, but” and “Nobody LIKES work”…

Doug and I think success is a personal measurement. What we feel is successful may not be the same for you. Doug thinks having a banana…

View original post 371 more words

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.