Book review: Strange Shores by Arnaldur Indriðason

Finally the story about his young brother comes out. Can’t wait to read it. One of my favourite authors.

I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Strange Shores is the latest installment in Indriðason’s Detective Erlendur series. This book is quite different from the others in the series and I think it will be either loved or strangeshoreshated by fans.

There is an ongoing storyline in the previous books in the series about Erlendur’s brother being lost in a snowstorm as a child. Erlendur has always blamed himself for this, but the reader doesn’t know too much about the background of the incident. This book finally addresses this storyline with Erlendur’s return to his childhood home in east Iceland. While he tries to find out exactly what happened to his brother who was never found, he also investigates the historical disappearance of local woman Matthildur, who was also lost on the moor during a storm. As he talks to elderly residents about their memories of Matthildur, will they be able to shed any light on his…

View original post 229 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book review: Strange Shores by Arnaldur Indriðason

  1. Thanks for the reblog. Hope you like the book! 🙂

    Like

  2. Mélanie says:

    just said I’ve been to Iceland twice before reading this post… everything does happen for a reason! 🙂 Iceland forever! I translated some Icelandic poems, if you’re interested and have some spare time:
    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/images-dans-leau-tu-es-le-temps-et-leau-matthias-johannessen/

    Like

Comments are closed.