Seven Types of Cookies for Christmas: Day Four

More delicious Xmas food ideas

ARCTIC GRUB

Today turned into the perfect day to bake.  A mix of sleet and rain had developed overnight here in the Hudson Valley and it was freezing outside this morning when I took my dogs out for their first outing.  We quickly ran back inside after the usual (yet unusually wet and short) walk,  where I was met with the warmth of the kitchen and the smell of freshly brewed coffee… My mind instantly went to day #4!!

Havreflarn, or “oatmeal wafers” are cookies that tastes just like candy. Super thin, crispy and almost caramelized cookies with an incredible texture and flavor that explodes in your mouth – these are laughingly easy to make, yet would impress even the most difficult to please guest.  These are cookies I associate with being “typical Norwegian” for Christmas and I always look forward to making these and offering them to my guests around the…

View original post 411 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.