Riskrem: A classic Norwegian Christmas dessert

In this recipe, they cook the rice in water first. I have never done that, but mine is never as nice as the traditional one prepared by a Dane. So I am going to try it this way, this time.
Thanks Artic Grub for another great post

ARCTIC GRUB

I am sure as children, and even adults, we have all been guilty of  quickly and dutifully finishing our dinner in anticipation of  dessert.  Whenever my mom declared we would have riskrem for dessert,  this was usually the time I didn’t care what the main course was once I learned what would follow.  Riskrem was a special treat, and which remains one of my favorite desserts to date, that I knew would come the day after my mom served “risengrynsgrøt” for dinner.  In typical Norwegian fashion,  every bit of food that was made from the days before were utilized and created into future meals.

Norwegian tradition through generations has been that on the day or night before Christmas Eve (also called “lillejulaften” or “Little Christmas Eve”),  families would make risengrynsgrøt for dinner, and a bowl was also placed outside by the barn for Santa Claus to enjoy before he went…

View original post 740 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.