Monday Mystery Photo – Where in the World are We?

Where in the World are we today? Can you recognise this cityscape?

city

Last week we were way up north at 64.7500° N, 20.9500° E in Lapland. Swedish lapland in fact. This beautiful cathedral is located in the Gulf of Bothnia, at the small but delightful city of Skellefteå, in the province of Vasterbotten.  Vasterbotten means ‘west of the gulf of bothnia’ and is the large body of sea that separates Sweden and Finland.

IMG_0047

This amazing Church is a site of pilgrimage for many of the area’s people and one of the largest for many miles. At the moment, I can not find any information on the web about when it was built so I will have to conduct some research of my own.

My Swedish friend tells me:

It was built in 1799. We call it “landskyrkan” or Skellefteå landsförsamlings kyrka.

Skellefte ( as it affectionately known) is a city with a population of 30,000 inhabitants, famous for its giant birches, located in Västerbotten, which means “west of the Gulf of Bothnia.”

Another beautiful photo of the church is found here bootsandabackpack.com/a-greek-temple-or-a-swedish-church

Just how many people trekked for miles in the snow to pray here, is something I ponder about when looking at this photo. A set of wooden cottages were especially constructed for the pilgrims to stay in whilst visiting this sacred site.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, Photography, Scandinavia, Sweden / Sverige and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Where in the World are We?

  1. scrapydo says:

    Lovely old church and thanks for the information. Very interesting! 🙂

    Like

  2. cyardin says:

    This wouldn’t be Bris Vegas by any chance would it?

    Like

  3. suzjones says:

    It’s Brisbane. I’m guessing it is taken looking from the Cenotaph 🙂

    Like

  4. suzjones says:

    Anzac Square between Anne and Adelaide Streets 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.