Wordless Wednesday

Wordless Wednesday

Wordless Wednesday

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
Image | This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Viking Queen says:

    Wouldn’t it be lovely if we had one day in the week where no words were allowed?

    I loved the ten days of silence on the Camino. It was probably the most profound week in my life. There is far too much compulsive communication in this world. Some silence would benefit us all, I believe.

    Like

    • I think so too, Poppy. I am comfortable with some silence, as a lot of Danish and Finnish people seem to be. They don’t see the need to fill gaps with useless pratter. This skill did not come easily to me, I had to learn to talk useless pratter. I guess this is also to do with whether you are an introvert/extrovert.
      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

    • Viking Queen says:

      You’re welcome Amanda. As you know, it’s a subject close to my heart (and soul). The ego really takes a back seat when you stop talking for a while.

      Like

    • Absolutely. The ego often clouds one’s perspective and cloaks the real person underneath. One’s awareness increases. But I doubt that we could do that for ever, as we have to be social creatures.

      Like

    • Viking Queen says:

      For sure…
      In the end we have to choose our own path and determine how much we want to play the game. I’ve pretty well withdrawn from most of the modern world, without loosing my most important friends. It isn’t easy though and needs huge mindfulness and sacrifice to pull it off.

      Like

Comments are closed.