Daily Mood Meter – Listless

1 Lacking in energy or disinclined to exert effort; lethargic; groggy

“He was ill not just with a high fever, but listless, lying down most of the day, and said he felt like a worn out dish rag”

2 Marked by low spirits, showing no enthusiasm:IMG_7704

“I’ve crossed out everything on my to do list and now I’m feeling listless.”

Side effects of long staff meetings include dry mouth, blurred vision and increasing listlessness.

In the 15th century, liste meant “pleasure, joy, delight.”

“I have seen slower people than I am and more deliberate… and even quieter, and more listless, and lazier people than I am. But they were dead”- Mark Twain

“His mind, emptied of theory and courage, lapsed back into a listless peace.”

Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce

Synonym: The grasshopper

Antonym: The ants

Pig Latin: Istlessday

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.