Store cupboard chowder

The Syllabub Sea

I picked up this beautiful piece of dyed cod loin at the weekend, half price.  I’m not often in the supermarket at the right time for bargains!

dyed cod loin

I raided the store cupboards and make a this chowder.

chowder

Store Cupboard Chowder
(serves 4)

300g  dyed cod loin
300g  sliced new potatoes
1  sliced onion
1  150g can sweetcorn
200ml  milk/evaporated milk
400ml  vegetable  stock
3 slices of Parma ham
1tsp  rapeseed oil

Method

  1. Sauté the onion in the rapeseed oil.
  2. Chop the Parma ham and add to the onions.
  3. Mix in the sliced potato.
  4. Add stock, milk and seasoning.
  5. Bring to the boil, then turn down to low, cover with lid and simmer for 10 minutes.
  6. Place cod loin on top of vegetables.
  7. Cover again and continue to simmer  for 5 minutes.
  8. Turn off the heat and leave for a further  5 minutes.
  9. Check seasoning.

Enjoy!

Marie

 

View original post

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.