Look Up, Look Down Challenge, Week 26

Look Up, Look Down Challenge, Week 26

Te Mata Peak, Havelock North, New Zealand. Hang Glider launch pad

 

Join in at Travel with Intent ‘s fun challenge here:

Related:

http://irenewaters19.com/2014/02/14/look-up-look-down-challenge-above-talloires-week-26/

Looking up and down and pondering somethings.

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
Image | This entry was posted in Community, Mountains, New Zealand, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Look Up, Look Down Challenge, Week 26

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh my goodness! I wouldn’t need telling twice! Thanks for linking this to the Up Down Challenge. Perfect choice for the challenge.

    Like

  2. Great minds think alike. Do you do it? I took one look and felt sick but they do look as though once up it would be quite idyllic and having seen from the launch site a taste of what they see I imagine it would be a wonderful sight from up there. But I am going to keep on imagining.

    Like

  3. quarksire says:

    Darn, well, me ,,,,,can’t tell me to stay off a ramp that was built for my passion lol….. i will take a few steps on that ramp any time! to bad its all da way over in NZ.an…..2 bad ya weren’t there a day when the kids were flying ! 🙂 lotsa fun even to watch!… Q

    Like

    • Watching is what I will be doing until my 70th birthday, quarksire! And you are right, it is fun to watch, the hang gliders are sooo graceful. How long have you been gliding?

      Like

    • quarksire says:

      hang gliding and paragliding for years, since bout the creation of the sport, but since i gotz to be too old i had to join the senior citizens club and now i fly the motorized versions, the Ultralight Trike,,,are some links to my photos and blogz i me werld here under hangliding adventures 🙂 My passion is Sailplanes but i cannot afford one,,so i fly the trike instead 🙂 is a snowmobile engine basically under a hanglider wing 🙂 take care,,,, will lewk forward to seeing some photos of the NZ guys flying ifn ur round there agin.take care Q 🙂

      Like

  4. I live here in Hastings but am not brave enough to go up Te Mata Peak very often. I can’t even stand driving up. My husband had a 1969 Cadillac de Ville (Boss Hogg’s car) and took us up in it one day. Hairy, not just for us but for poor unsuspecting drivers coming in the opposite direction. Great photo. 😀

    Like

    • You live there in Hastings! Did I tell you my family way back were pioneers in Havelock North, one of the original Danish families. My Cousin grew up in Hastings and by a quirky twist of fate, my friend here in Australia (but adopted in New Zealand) found her biological mother in Hastings as well. You would know Rush Munro’s ice cream parlour! We stopped there after we went up Te Mata Peak back in early December! Te Mata was pretty hairy and I could not believe there were no guard rails along the side. We had to wait for the bus to come up before we could go down. Spectacular! How long have you lived in Hastings, Raewyn?

      Like

    • I have lived in Hastings for 13 years now. I actually was born in Kawerau and then at the age of 2 we moved to Auckland. After training as a nurse I went overseas and then lived in Austria for 11 years. After divorcing my Austrian husband I came back to Hastings with my two young children as my family had moved down here. I live just down the road from Rush Munro’s ice cream parlour – literally. What a small world we live in. 😀

      Like

    • Certainly is a small world. Whereabouts in Austria did you live? I loved that country when I visited two years ago. As a cold climate person, the fact that you can get about in winter and go skiing at lunchtime if you choose, is a luxury I would love to have.

      Like

  5. FireBonnet says:

    What a powerful image! And I agree with all above… you don’t have to tell me twice. Wonderful ‘down’ photo.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Look Up, Look Down Challenge, Week 26 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Comments are closed.