Travel theme: Ancient

Jelling Rune StoneI was about to touch and photography history. This impressive Rune stone was raised in the 10th century at a time when the Vikings had their seat of power in Jelling, Denmark. The stones have stood there since. In 2008, four years after this photo was taken, UNESCO determined that the stones were weathering and needed extra protection and suggested moving them to an indoor location.

 

The sensible Danes found a compromise and built a glass cover over them, whilst leaving them in their original position. I don’t know if you can still touch and feel them, as we were able to, in 2004. It was a bizarre feeling touching something from that era.

This meets Ailsa’s from Where’sMyBackpack’s criteria of ancient, at least in my mind. Jelling is a beautiful town and I often ponder my time there.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Danish, Danmark, Denmark, History & Traditions, Scandinavia, Traditional Art, Traditions, Vikings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Travel theme: Ancient

  1. Very impressive! But I now have Led Zeppelin’s Immigrant Song running through my head. 😛

    Like

  2. M. R. says:

    You ARE lucky, Amanda! – Stringer and I regretted never having gone to Denmark. Well, to Scandinavia – but especially to Denmark …

    Like

  3. Some ancient monuments are in ruins but this one is in runes.

    Like

Comments are closed.