Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Nature

While the northern hemisphere looks to the buds bursting into spring, my nature is sub – tropical, thus we are topsy -turvy with the seasons. Here the summer is just starting to wane, but oh, just so slightly. We have a long way to go before winter arrives in earnest. Which is never really does, anyway.

I am really a winter person, stuck in a place without winter, but on days like this below, I can enjoy the nature summer provides.  The water here is divine. Eat your heart out Caribbean islands!

The location is Tangalooma, in Moreton Bay, Australia, and the cormorants were having their morning social! Aren’t they beautiful?

Thanks always to Sally at Lens and Pens for this fun challenge. (which is soon to be re-named) Join in here.

Nature week: Phoneography challenge

Cormorants on Tangalooma

And some ponderings about the days on the beach in our eternal summer:

Beaches

Parchment sands blow gently in the early onshore breeze,

like kisses of dried out lips,

towels flutter in sunshine, sweat, and surf,

muffled squeals of delighted children,

salt sprays and sunscreen coats the skin like the morning dew

must-have ice- creams melting on sticky fingers;

The sleepy afternoon return home.

Amanda

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Australia, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Nature

  1. Lovely!!!
    PS We got so much rain on Saturday in Sydney… Summer has left the building….

    Like

  2. Oh, I’d like to live in continuous summer. Alas, the four seasons do have their joys and triumphs. We’re in the midst of the coldest winter that I’ve ever experienced. Spring is weeks away, which keeps me hopeful. I adore your image and the text and the poem. Lovely combination. Happy Phoneography Challenge.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Nature (and Winter’s Colors) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  4. M. R. says:

    Never seen so many shags in one place!!! Amazing!!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Celebrating nature in my backyard | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

Comments are closed.