POET INTERVIEW – ANDREA HEIBERG

In recognition of International Women’s day, I would like to recognize Danish author Andrea Heiberg, who since publishing a book on short stories has become an inspiration to me and my writing and a good friend. An interview with her is reproduced here where she talks about her poetry.

POETIC BLOOMINGS

ANDREA HEIBERG

Writers on the whole are (in my opinion) a brave lot.  It takes a measure of courage to put words on display for viewing and assessment of the general public.  I can only imagine it takes a heightened sense of commitment and courage for one such as our own Andrea Heiberg, who chooses to write in a foreign language:  English.

In addition to writing and posting poetry online, Andrea has published a fictional book of short stories, centered around folks on her beloved Sejer Island (Next Stop:  Sejer Island).  In this English tongue that is foreign to her, she manages to engage and move the reader to truly feel, know and (yes) love the characters she draws.  Her stories speak to everyday life as experienced on a tiny island, complete with life perceptions and subtle take-away lessons from ordinary victors.  I applaud Andrea’s efforts, and

View original post 2,815 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to POET INTERVIEW – ANDREA HEIBERG

  1. M. R. says:

    A female (and modern) Joseph Conrad. Truly impressive!

    Like

Comments are closed.