Proverbial Thursday – a little late this week

I find profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and marvel at the way they can be so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and across cultures, and speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes like proverbs, can make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too. ( Post is a little late this week, first time so far!!)Stalheim

The day that is gone, you will not get one more time.
Dagen som er gått, får ein ikkje igjen Norwegian Proverb

As Mae West once said, “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

 

Something to ponder about.

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, Language, Norway, Proverbs, Scandinavia, Vikings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – a little late this week

  1. M. R. says:

    I’d never heard that Mae West quote – and I LOVE it, Amanda! When you think about it, it’s as deep as any other version …

    Like

Comments are closed.