Travel theme – Gardens

This challenge was made for me!!

 

LauncestonGardens in Tasmania

 

banksiaAustralia

 

 

Singapore orchid gardensSingapore

Singapore Orchid Gardensand

New Zealand

gardenscollageNew Zealand4

Some more gardens, in this theme at Ailsa’s Where’s My Backpack

Related:

http://tvortravels.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/travel-theme-gardens/

Something to Ponder about

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Australia, Flowers, Gardening, New Zealand, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Travel theme – Gardens

  1. aishasoasis says:

    Greetings from Egypt! Your photos are so lovely, I especially adore the wisteria!

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I appreciate that more than you think. Hello and welcome from Australia.

      Like

    • I thought I had replied already to you, but some gremlin has removed it!! Welcome to my blog and thank you ever so much for your lovely comment. The wisteria is special isn’t it? I photographed it as you would never find Wisteria like this in my part of Australia.

      Like

    • aishasoasis says:

      I saw your reply before the gremlin got it – He does that to me sometimes too! That kind of wisteria only appears in my dreams, it’s so awesome!

      Like

    • Are you serious? Well it is very special then. I haven’t seen that many as it’s far too hot here.

      Like

    • aishasoasis says:

      I think wisteria is probably the most beautiful plant in the world! It grows really well in south carolina and I brought some seeds here to egypt but they didn’t germinate. It gets really hot here too, maybe it doesn’t like too much heat?

      Like

    • Yes, I think it is definitely a cool climate plant. The only ones I have seen have been in the very southern end of Australia, and this one, which is in Tasmania,definitely the cooler end of the planet!!

      Like

  2. lillianhh says:

    Loved those pictures, so beautiful 🙂

    Like

  3. M. R. says:

    I thought I liked the Tassie one best … and then I found the Kiwiland ones, with the ducks.
    I ADORE ducks. I cannot resist ducks. So it’s the NZ gardens for me …. 😀

    Like

  4. Woolly Muses says:

    We used to be ‘surrounded’ by wattle trees and I do miss them now…jjust love them

    Like

    • Some people are allergic and my grandmother used to believe that they were bad luck if kept as vase flowers. But I think they are beautiful. Easy to grow too. I sent some over to a friend in Iceland and they took off ( in a greenhouse) so now there are Australian wattle in Iceland. ( as a decorative plant, of course!)

      Like

Comments are closed.