Monday Mystery Photo – Where in the World are We?

Monday Mystery Photo - Where in the World are We?

Each Monday I post a photograph from somewhere in the world.

Can you guess where this might be?

 

The photo come from LeDrakeNoir, who has kindly given me permission to use his photograph for this week’s Mystery Photo.

Pop on over to check out his blog (no cheating looking for the photo!!!)
If you think you know where this photo might have been taken, make a comment below. If you are right, I will post a link back to your blog the following week.

Last week we were in the iconic ruins of Port Arthur Penitentiary in Tasmania. The haunting peacefulness of this historic site was shattered in 1996, by a psychopathic madman, one Martin Bryant, who went on a murderous rampage though Port Arthur, shooting and killing 35  men, woman and children.  A terrible tragedy. Words cannot express what  I felt when I was confronted with the many bouquets of flowers, (some from a father to his dead child), that lie next to the giant cross,which serves as a tribute to the victims. The hollowed out shell of the crowded cafe, has been deliberately left standing as a sentinel  to the victims.  It will never be built on again, as a mark of respect to the dead.

Port Arthur: A ex penal colony that housed the worst criminals of all, and now the site of one of the worst massacres of all.

Something to ponder about.

 

port-arthur1

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
Image | This entry was posted in Community, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Where in the World are We?

  1. M-R says:

    It had to be North Africa, and when I started searching images in Tunisia, I found a place called Sousse. in which there’s a wide shot of a mosque and a corner looking VERY much like this image. How’m I doin then ?

    Like

  2. Not A Clue…….but M.R. just may have it!

    Like

  3. mariayarri says:

    Somewhere in the Northern part of Africa … Maybe Tunisia or Marocko … // Maria 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.