Does Denmark have a racism problem? – News – The Copenhagen Post

Does Denmark have a racism problem? – News – The Copenhagen Post.

Bullying is simply intolerable. Bullying based on race, even more despicable. I love Denmark and am a bit obsessed with all things Danish ( have danish heritage) but after reading this article, am very thankful that I and my kids grew up in a multicultural Australia. However, there is worrying xenophobic trends here that undermine the egalitarianist ideal that was present, in Australia. Again this is mainly coming from the racially homogenous sector of society and right winged minds. It is brave of this young man to present his story and I hope that through this, it can challenge entrenched bigoted attitudes. The bullying based on race can even extend to facial features/sexual orientation that diverge from any norm. Some people will only be happy if everyone looks sounds, speaks and thinks the same. What a horrible society devoid of diversity that would be.

Fear, ignorance and a lack of altruistic values taught by family in the early years, are some of the causative factors and it is there they must be challenged and addressed.

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, education, Relationships, Self-Help. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Does Denmark have a racism problem? – News – The Copenhagen Post

  1. M-R says:

    It is ALWAYS going to happen somewhere. I’ve read stories of western kids being vilifed in Asian schools. It isn’t one-way: it’s a tribal thing. This bloke was lucky he could be moved as a kid to an international school: most have to lump it. It’s the way the world turns, and it’s getting worse as the politicians see benefit in whipping up nationalism. 😦

    Like

    • Surely attitudes will change with time, it is a matter of which way. We don’t still hold Victorian values, so I can imagine things changing in the future, too. But bullying in all forms: is this a basic human concept. Can it be eliminated or is the human spirit too competitive?

      Like

  2. scrapydo says:

    I had or still have the “bullying” going her in the bus with my student. It will never change there will always be some human beings who think they are better than others and that is where the bullying starts. Parents give the example and the kids copy it . A real vicious circle. Doesn’t matter which “race” you are or which “culture” you believe in!

    Like

    • Oh no, Ineke, that is awful. What a bad experience for your student to have that happen. But then, as you say, it can happen anyway and is not socio-economically nor racially/culturally exclusive. Children and teenagers need to be develop a really strong shell and self concept in order to deflect these verbal attacks, and be given the support from elders in the community, family, friends and school staff. I have a teacher friend who even told her own child to punch the bully. She said that of course, this would result in suspension but the bully would never touch her again!!! It worked. A very complex problem. One I feel quite passionate about.

      Like

    • scrapydo says:

      My son is/was always the softy and the one day he just punched one of the bullies and the problem was solved. My husband was a tall and big fellow. He hated fighting and never had to use his fists but he told my son to stand up and get it over with when the other bullied him. My son was always the youngest in the group that’s why the others used to pick on him. As soon as he stood his ground all went well. It is the same in nature. Always one that is pushed out of the group

      Like

    • That is interesting. It seems that this is what might be needed. I feel in some way that I brought my son up incorrectly. That is not to use his fists, but the result was that he was bullied. So perhaps there is justification for retailiation if the results are this effective. Actions speak louder than words, it seems. Thanks for sharing this Ineke! I am glad your son was able to overcome his difficulties.

      Like

    • scrapydo says:

      You’ll never know anyway! parent interference usually makes it worse. Child hates you and the bullies bully more! Something like that.

      Like

Comments are closed.