Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs from around the World

I find profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and across cultures, and speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes like proverbs, can make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

From Africa:

dragør

“A deaf man may not have heard the thunder but he surely will see the rain.”

– Malian Proverb

and a saying this week inferring that power corrupts:

“The truth is that all men having power ought to be mistrusted.”

– James Madison

 

Something to Ponder About.

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, Motivational, Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs from around the World

  1. M-R says:

    I like BOTH of today’s, Amanda ! – can make perfect sense of ’em.

    Like

  2. mariayarri says:

    Never heard them before but I like them 🙂 … // Maria 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.