Daily Post Photo Challenge – Room

Daily Post weekly photo challenge wants a room and here is one of my favourite rooms:

Den gamle by

This lady was making ‘kleiner’ – a type of traditional Christmas Donut style dough shaped into a twisted diamond. Delicious. The simplicity of this room both in the nature of the woman’s clothes and kitchen itself, with its whitewashed wooden cupboards, and cluttered yet tidy appearance was, I believed, true to a realistic representation of past times in Denmark.

And here is the inside of a Swedish Torp. Authentic country Northern swedish design. Often the Torps are closed up in winter until summer re-appears.

torp

 

Something to Ponder About

My contribution

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Denmark, Photography, Sweden / Sverige and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Post Photo Challenge – Room

  1. Great photos. 😀

    Like

  2. bkpyett says:

    Amanda, your photos have taken me to another forgotten world, thank you so much!

    Like

  3. M-R says:

    LOVELY, Amanda !

    Like

  4. Why?Matters! says:

    Nice shot, around 25 years back i could see my great-grandmother doing the same.

    Like

Comments are closed.