Heart smart Food to fight cholesterol

We all want to live longer and healthier right, but the food must also have some zing and taste, must it not?

Hommus or Hummus, is an easy to make healthy food that can be a great substitute for eating sweet or savoury biscuits when the afternoon munchies hit.  I keep a stock of chilled carrot, celery sticks or old pita bread that have been cut into strips and baked in the oven, for a few minutes, which are then used as dipping sticks for teens and smaller kids to eat the hommus with.

Hummus: Savoury Bean Dip

1 can chickpeas, drained
1 teaspoon of sesame tahini spread
Lemon juice
1 clove of garlic, crushed
Olive oil

Method:

Combine ingredients in a blender.  Process until smooth, adjusting proportions to taste. Add a little water to thin the dip. Season with salt and pepper. Easy peasy!!

Benefits: Chickpeas and carrots are loaded with cholesterol-busting soluble fiber. Garlic can help curb inflammation and may slow blood clotting.

Garnish with parsley.

Something for the heart to ponder about.

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Nutrition, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Heart smart Food to fight cholesterol

  1. bkpyett says:

    This sounds just what I need for my family coming next week. Thank you Amanda!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do they have cholesterol issues, Barbara? If so, what have they found helped?

      Like

    • bkpyett says:

      Yes, my son in law has had heart issues, (so has my husband). Wade doesn’t eat so many things, eg. pasta, rice, potatoes, bread, and more….. This has flustered me in the past, but have decided to concentrate on veggies, and hope for the best!! He used to be vegetarian, like my daughter, but now he eats meat. It’s always the thought that is worse than the doing. It is probably good for me to try new things…and not make my usual lasagne, et al. Am about to do your hummus, so that is something I can prepare before they come. This is my second family coming this week, the last one was a breeze!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I hope it goes well. I am yearning to make a lemon and raspberry cake… not so good for the hubby’s cholesterol. But good to keep away the winter coughs and colds, which I have to be careful of contracting.
      Have a great week.

      Like

  2. M-R says:

    Never thought I’d be amongst those who have to consider this issue, but alas … Good post, Amanda ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.