Travel theme: Belonging

 Tvor’s Travels posted about ‘belonging’, in response to Ailsa’s travel prompt

You can belong to a group of people, or a family or each other. You can have possessions that belong to you. Things can belong together (One of these things is not like the others!)  and some things go together like cookies and milk or ice cream and summer!

How does it relate to travel? You can feel an affinity for a place, like you belong there or maybe you lived there in a former life.  It may be that you associate something iconic….

A sense of belonging is one of the most important things in life, and without it, we can feel pain, disorientation, loss, bewilderment, and isolation.

With these things in mind, I found a sense of unexpected belonging in my affinity for my ancestral homelands, in my travel experiences in Denmark, Norway, and Sweden, and my final pic is just for fun!!

clasonsborg.jpg

My ancestral home – Clasonsborg, Denmark

Special places I feel a sense of belonging:

and I feel a sense of belonging to these people:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and finally, a different kind of belonging!! (Australiana)

IMG_20140921_095323Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Denmark, Norway, Photo challenges, Photography, Sweden / Sverige, Travel, travel photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Travel theme: Belonging

  1. cindy knoke says:

    so beautiful~ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scrapydo says:

    Visiting these places really makes you feel that you belong there. When I visited my place of birth I also knew that I belong there.

    Like

    • Did you feel that too? It is very strange to think these ties transcend generations and moves to other places. Just goes to show that our sense of belonging is tied to intangible things as well as tangible!

      Like

    • scrapydo says:

      Yes, that’s true! Just standing in the room where I slept the first 5 years gave me goosebumps. Also driving around in the Netherlands was a life experience

      Like

    • I had a goosbumps experience when I visited Sonder Felding for the first time (Denmark) and wen to the local arkives and the arkivist gave me a newspaper from the village published just one week before my arrival featuring the house when my ggg grandfather owned – the oldest house of the village. Because of the article, I was able to visit it and that is the photo of the yellow house you see in the gallery of my post. And the Netherlands had lots of connections to Denmark in years gone by, as well.

      Like

    • scrapydo says:

      It really is an undescribable experience. Even passing the queens palace was something special(Not far from where we lived)

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.