-30 Day Book Challenge – A Book that has been on your “to read” list the longest.

DAY 27 – REGAINING COMPASSION  for HUMANITY and NATURE by Charles Birch

“Charles Birch is one of the most exciting and provocative scientists writing on fundamental issues today,” according to Paul Davies.

Whether or not you agree with his theological conclusions, this book will make you think. It is especially recommended to those who think that science has all of the answers –  Paul R Ehrlich

I heard winning Australian author Charles Birch speak about the rebirth of compassion, for ourselves, each other and our planet, and  set about finding his book, (with great difficulty), many years ago, in fact, over 14 years ago. It is heavy going and the constraints of time and many other books TBR, have  thus far prevented me from reading it.

In the book, I one day will read, Birch presents a persuasive argument that only compassion has the power to enrich and heal a world which too often seems senseless, unintelligible and accidental.

An important contribution to the science/religion dialogue.

Something to Ponder About, when I get to reading it.

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Books, Environment, History & Traditions, Traditions, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to -30 Day Book Challenge – A Book that has been on your “to read” list the longest.

  1. mukhamani says:

    I do agree, there is always some connection between people , knowingly or unknowingly people have some impact on someone. Long back I had read in an Agatha Christie book, that in some way or the other people play an important role in some other person’s life. It is true.Life changes because of some person coming into our life, we may or may not know them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I see you get that. Have you ever seen the Gwyneth Paltrow movie Sliding doors? It is about turning points in your life, and the people who you meet, and how life can change dramatically, one way or the other. Thanks for your insightful comment.

      Like

Comments are closed.