Danish Spice Cake – an Australian Perspective

Danish spice cake with a dusing of Cinnamon Sugar

I so love using cinnamon  in home baking as it is has so many health  benefits.

Cinnamon is a source of calcium, iron, vitamins, figre, and can assist with  a variety of digestive ailments such as gas and bloating and has a mild anti-inflammatory effect. Studies have shown improved insulin sensitivity and blood glucose control by taking as little as half a teaspoon of cinnamon per day. Improving insulin resistance can help in weight control as well as decreasing the risk for heart disease. [Source:http://cinnamonnutrition.com/index.html%5D ]

So when Tidious Ted at Recipereminiscing posted this recipe just before Christmas, I jumped a the chance to make it.

In Australia, we do not have access to the wonder that is fermented milk products, so I substituted sour cream and plain probiotic yoghhurt (3/4 to 1/4) in place of cultured milk.

I also halved the recipe as it makes quite a large cake, used butter instead of margarine, and replaced the cloves with mixed spice.

I also added a few currants….. just because I could!!

Another tasty recipe I have made, using cinnamon to make Apple and Cinnamon Bread, is found here

Read More about cinnamon itself and its properties here 

Adding more cinnamon to your diet: Something Delicious and Healthy to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cakes, Cakes, cookies, biscuits and Home Bake, Danmark, Denmark, Food, Health, Nutrition, Vitamins and Minerals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Danish Spice Cake – an Australian Perspective

  1. Om nom namm noom… Pinned to pinterest! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lulu says:

    I did not know cinnamon had so much value. No matter how much is called for in a recipe I always add a little more. Perhaps I’ve been doing myself some good!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robyn G says:

    It sounds really delicious! What did you think of it?

    Like

Comments are closed.