Monday Mystery Photo- Where in the World Are We? (Last week – Netherlands)

Each Monday I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object on my blog.

I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you know where this week’s mystery photo was taken. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog.

Where in the World is the following photo taken? Can you guess?

 

103_0311

Last week was a real puzzle, and confused quite a few people, including Keatspeare who thought it might have been Italy, and Christopher who thought the Red Lion indicated something English…. but it was in fact, in The Netherlands….. The building you see below was the Town Hall in Delft!!

The red shutters date back to 1618 – 20 but the tower is much older.

Delft Town HallRead more about this building here

 

Monday Mystery

Something to Ponder about

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Europe, History & Traditions, Monday mystery photo, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo- Where in the World Are We? (Last week – Netherlands)

  1. Oh. I was thinking that today’s is in the Netherlands somewhere … but probably not, if last week’s was.
    Sighh …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some Nordic country. Denmark?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ledrakenoir says:

    Yeah this place is well known – for several reasons – the idyllic atmosphere, the hot chocolate, and the very old steam driven paddle steamer – people would never regret joining a relaxing trip on it – some beautiful lakes connected with this river – the water in front is actually a river, the only one in this country – my son live in this city… 🙂

    Like

    • So you know it well, Drake. I thought, if no one else got this, you would!!! Yet you still haven’t told everyone the name of the city, but I know you do know what it is. And the trip up the river, I have to agree with you, it is one of the most beautiful and relaxing trips I have had on a boat. All those beautiful houses along the river, and the residents wave as Hjelen passes by. I would love to go back there one day soon.
      Thanks for participating.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. TidiousTed says:

    A wild guess: Kalmar in Sweden

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.