Monday Mystery Photo- Where in the World Are We? (Last week Silkeborg)

Each Monday I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object on my blog.

I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you know where this week’s mystery photo was taken. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog.

Where in the World is the following photo taken? Can you guess?

Last week, Drake correctly identified that we were in my beloved Denmark, waiting for the oldest operative steamship the “Hjelen” to take us along the idyllic Gudenå river to the highest point in the land, Himmelbjerget, (The Sky Mountain).

It is over ten years since I first sailed down this river, admiring all the picturesque, summer glass-walled pavilions, decorated boat houses and manicured gardens of the thatched and ‘oh-so-Danish’ homes, on the river bank.

On the top of Himmelbjerget, you’ll find a tower with a height of 25 meters, which is what makes it the country’s highest point!! The tower was erected in 1875 to honour King Frederik VII (who on June 5 1849, gave the Danish people a free constitution).

There are many walking tracks in the area, and kayaking/canoeing on the lake is popular in the summer months.

Here is a glimpse of what it the river cruise is like:

 

Monday Mystery

Monday Mystery Photo – Something to Ponder About

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Community, Danmark, History & Traditions, Nature, Photography, Scandinavia, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo- Where in the World Are We? (Last week Silkeborg)

  1. Easy one: Singapore Esplanade Theatre. 🙂

    Like

  2. nowathome says:

    I think it is Singapore!

    Like

  3. I was going to say; Canada, but… looking at those monsoonal clouds I have to agree it could be Singapore. If so, my goodness, what happened to Singapore?

    Like

  4. keatspeare says:

    Either Shanghai or Singapore, looking at the architecture and the weather

    Like

  5. keatspeare says:

    It’s the Esplande Theatre

    Like

  6. hehe! Super sleuth Keatspeare and Google make a great combination!

    Like

Comments are closed.