What’s on the Wall-y? Daily Prompt – Wall to Wall

I’m a pretty private kind of person so for me to share my wall is special, but oh, gosh it has to be done in the name of Rosemaling….

Which is? ….. (you might ask)…

The traditional folk art of Norway is called Rosemaling and you can read more about it here.

Perhaps you would like to read about a medieval church decorated from floor to ceiling with Rosemaling here

There are a multitude of different styles from differing regions of Norway.

Here is a close up of the Telemark style:

Rosemalingwork13

It is a dynamic art form, always appearing to move and flow….

But back to Wally…. No it is not Wally, but the daily prompt of Wall to Wall .

The featured wall comes with a plate rack, holding a series of wooden plates that I have painted. In addition, there are some treasures and trinkets from my travels, special photos of Denmark and Norway, and several framed pieces of art, that I painted some years back. The corner also has heirlooms from my Danish family, and my Swedish great grandmother would be very pleased to even see I have painted some Dalarna horses to complement the Nordic trifecta of mementos.

IMG_20150216_153609~2

This wall feels cosy, comforting and is a place impermeable to the challenges of everyday life. It also is the caretaker of things that are bigger than me and will continue to exist, long after I am gone.  Heirlooms, hand-me-down mementos. They might be seen as dust collectors, or clutter, and drive others up the wall,  but this is my wall of memories. A legacy to the art form and my pastime.

Thanks to Blogging 101 for the prompt and Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Art, Community, daily post, decorative art, History & Traditions, Norway, Painting, Traditional Art, Traditions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What’s on the Wall-y? Daily Prompt – Wall to Wall

  1. A great wall and I like it very much “A legacy to the art form and my pastime”. and “It also is the caretaker of things that are bigger than me”. Well put.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DailyMusings says:

    What a lovely wall and beautiful pieces

    Like

  3. A Nordic corner. It’s beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    Your wall of memories is beautiful – a little piece of Scandinavia in Australia. I can see why you find it restful, as well as it being precious to you. Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. scrapydotwo says:

    This is a wow collection! Thanks for sharing it. Forget about what the children are going to do with it as long as it brings joy to you Love it

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.