Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week – Point Cartwright, Australia

Each Monday I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object on my blog. I would encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where this week’s mystery photo was taken. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog.

Where in the World is the following photo taken? Can you guess? Click on photo to enlarge.

mmphotofeb23i

I promised it would be a harder challenge this week, and it was.

We were in Australia, at the lookout at Point Cartwright, in Queensland, on the eastern Sunshine Coast. This is the site of not only a lookout, but also a location where a number of people have died from suicide, (the cliff seems to be a kind of lover’s leap), or other tragic circumstances.

mmphoto23 feb

The area is dotted with tragic reminders of loved one who have taken the ultimate act of sacrificing their own lives, mostly for reasons known only to themselves.

Family 2013 268Family 2013 272A few years back some young blokes got into a bit of a drunken ‘argy-bargy’ and before they knew it, they tumbled over the cliffs and onto the rocks below to their demise….

Point Cartwright
Monday Mystery
Something to Ponder About

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Australia, beach, Community, digital photography, Monday mystery photo, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week – Point Cartwright, Australia

  1. I think it could be Burma.

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    Is it Sri Lanka?

    Like

  3. ledrakenoir says:

    My guess would be Nepal in the Kathmandu area – so the temple is called in english something including the word ‘black’ – don’t think it’s straight ‘The black Temple’… 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.