Photo 101 – Home, Homeland, Hjem

Home, Hjem, Homeland

It’s not my home,  yet I would call it mine.

I am not the owner, yet family lived there some time.

I’ve never been inside this ancestral home,

It’s my essence, my roots, and in my dreams I’ll roam.

I don’t know the new residents, they were out when I called.,

It’s the history, what went before, that has me enthralled.

I am ‘of ‘ this place, and it is so much ‘of ‘ me,

this continuing story of my family tree.

Home – Something to Ponder About

103_0337.jpg

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Danmark, Denmark, Photo challenges, Photography, Poetry, Scandinavia, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photo 101 – Home, Homeland, Hjem

  1. cindy knoke says:

    How beautiful, both the house and prose~

    Like

  2. scrapydotwo says:

    Well done, you start to be poetic! Love it

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    A beautifully written poem, Amanda, and an equally stunning photograph. You obviously feel an enormous pull towards Scandinavia. I love the word, hjem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.