Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there is profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and  marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more Proverbial thursdfly sml 3932deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

Seek in everything its essence – Swedish proverb

If you are depressed, you are living in the past, if you are anxious, you are living in the future, if you are at peace, you are living in the present.Lao Tzu

Something proverbial to ponder about

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, ordtak, Poetry, proverbial thursday, Quotes, Sayings, Scandinavia, Sweden / Sverige, Traditions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. M-R says:

    At first I dismissed that second one, saying “Oh that’s far too facile !” … and then I thought about it – and it’s entirely true !!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Beautiful quote by Lao Tzu. When we’re anxious, we worry about what’s to come or what could happen. There’s no certainty in life and in what we do and how it will all turn out, so we might as well enjoy the moment. I think the way the world works is partly to blame – like how there are strict deadlines at work – and the fact that we aren’t happy with what we do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is true, Mabel. Many people set unrealistic expectations for themselves and their family. The effort behind the task is what is really important, I think. Too much focus is on the end product and this leaves us feeling impoverished if it is not perfect. Media also reinforces this as the bloopers are always edited out. And Tzu’s quote comes from a time before contemporary media, I imagine? It is wise words indeed.

    Like

Comments are closed.