Travel theme – Spring

Where’s My Backpack has a travel themed photographic challenge – titled “Spring” – but at home it is still summer, and heading (hopefully) towards the cooler autumnal soon!sandane (Small)

My photo comes from Sandane, Norway, last Spring. I hear Norwegians and other Scandinavians often complaining all winter how  Spring feels so far away.

The light on the furthest shore teases, promising a Springtime almost within reach, whilst the mountaintops sing a different tune, of a winter not entirely finished its annual performance.

Then suddenly…. Spring!!

IMG_7051 (Small)

IMG_4577

and the earth smiles in flowers

Something to Ponder About

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Climate change and weather, Flowers, Nature, Norway, Photo challenges, Photography, Plants, Scandinavia, Travel, travel photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Travel theme – Spring

  1. Great photo. Are they lupins?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara says:

    Beautiful photos, as always 🙂

    Like

  3. milliethom says:

    Simply beautiful, Amanda. I love the photo of the lovely village, and to see so many lupins all together is incredible. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TidiousTed says:

    The pictures are taken in Norway so it is lupins, but they don’t grow wild. They are sowed by the road administration and are spreading so fast that they are starting to become quite a problem 😉

    Like

    • Oh, thanks for that, Ted. It sounds like something commendable that a road authority would take the time to do that, but sad that it is becoming a biological menace. We live in delicate ecosystems and man’s interference often upsets the natural balance.

      Like

  5. Leya says:

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. scrapydotwo says:

    I keep forgetting to tell you I love you header photo!

    Like

Comments are closed.