The Story of Burnt Njal – Icelandic Saga Database

The Story of Burnt Njal – Icelandic Saga Database.

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, Vikings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Story of Burnt Njal – Icelandic Saga Database

  1. Oh, don’t get me going on Sagas. I know Finland isn’t officially part of Scandinavia but the saga or National Epic of the Finnish Kalevela, its folk poetry surely must be rated as one of the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think we can include them, even it officially there aren’t. The finnish people here are part of our Scandinavian choir and join in with the Scandinavian festivals. I quite enjoy singing some Finnish songs.

      Like

  2. Andrea says:

    Sagas and Shakespeare … now fantasy, no. Anyway, why should Finland not be regarded as Scandinavia?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrea says:

    Gerard, I do, too. I’m a Dane and I never heard anyone saying anything else.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leya says:

    I love Njal’s Saga. I always read from it in my classes when we study Icelandic literature. The part where Gunnar på Lidarende fights and dies and the part when Njal and his family are burned to death. It’s a fantastic story of how Christians and believers of the old faith/Gods could coexist in peace. The fighting and killings are more about slander and revenge.
    The Sagas where of course not meant for children, and it is said that some parts of them are true – have happened in the old days. If you go to iceland you will see many of the names and recognize them and the landscape from the Sagas.

    Like

    • It is a shame that I did not read some of the Icelandic sagas before my visit to that region, but then, my hosts definitely referred to them in the places we visited. Such wonderful old stories, true or not. You are lucky to study /teach them Ann-christine.

      Like

    • Leya says:

      I am. But, this autumn I will take a break from teaching…maybe even leave it. For various reasons.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.