Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.Proverbial sml 3932

Gaa til glasset med din glede, ikke til flasken med din sorg!

Go to the glass with your joy, not to the bottle with your grief !!!!!

– Norwegian Proverb

 

“You will never reach your destination if you stop and throw stones at every dog that barks” -Winston Churchill

Something to ponder about today

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in History & Traditions, Language, Proverbs, Scandinavia, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    The Churchill quote I found very interesting. On our quest to our goals or on the journey of pursuing our passion, sometimes we should let the naysayers be and take what they have to say with a pinch of salt and move on – or else we won’t get anywhere. At the end of the day, we’re all different with our own opinions and we can’t please anyone. To be happy and to make others happy, first we must listen to ourselves and do what makes us happy.

    Like

  2. milliethom says:

    I totally agree with the Norwegian proverb. Drowning sorrows in alcohol never helped anyone, whereas raising a glass in joy or celebration shared with others can be wonderful. The Winston Churchill quote is also very true.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. powerhouse244 says:

    oh I really like this

    Go to the glass with your joy, not to the bottle with your grief !
    and the churchill one is so true…. nice combo of thinking you give us

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure to offer these sayings; I am glad you like them. I think they are so layered with meanings. And I coincidentally picked a proverb referring to alcohol along with a quote from Churchill, who also liked a drop of booze.

      Like

Comments are closed.