Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

From the bitterness of disease man learns the sweetness of health.
-Catalan Proverb

“The mind will always chatter; but when we refuse to listen or absorb any spews of negativity that it speaks, the chatter will become the voice of our heart which will only speak the truth, from a loving viewpoint, that our mind does not want us to know.”

~ A Window of Wisdom

Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in A window of Wisdom, Catalonia, proverbial thursday, Proverbs, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    The second quote is a bit mind boggling to me. The mind is always searching, listening and learning new things around us, pushing and rubbing against ideas and others around us. When we take criticism with a pinch of salt, often we come to listen to our heart and find our passions – our passions come from within. Then again, the voices around us can bring us down and in a way this is positive as it makes us realise what we truly believe in.

    “that our mind does not want us to know” That bit of the quote got me. I am stumped at how to interpret that part of it 😀

    Like

    • Thanks Mabel for your always insightful comment. I think that part of the quote of which you speak, refers to the strength of the conscious mind, that natters constantly in the back of our heads about negative things, about the jobs we have to do, and have done, about things that have been said and not said. That judging part of our mind replays negative incidents over and over and at times gives us no peace but only stress. This part of the mind is hard to control. An Ancient Indian saying goes something like this: ‘The mind is harder to control than the wind’ – and therefore this neagtive chattering in that part of the mind can cloud and prevent us hearing or ‘knowing’ our inner kinder thoughts. It is those inner thoughts which the quote suggests, comes more from our hearts, are more positive and loving, more like our true self. Do you think that sounds a plausible way of interpreting it, Mabel?

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      That is a very good way of interpreting it, Amanda. The mind will certainly always question, and sometimes because of this judging, we second guess ourselves. Sometimes listening to the heart and not the mind makes us happier and more contented. But it’s a fine line.

      Like

    • Oh yes, Mabel, that is true. And it is not always easy or feasible to always listen to the heart and so we listen more to our ‘heads'(and this reflects our values and different personalities). So I find that on some occasions when I have listened to the heart the what if’s creep in later, in the mind……

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, how very true. We never appreciate our health until it is comprised!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try to remind myself of this from time to time, if I feel like winging about some trivial matter. My father-in-law used to say: “Health is wealth really!” and I think he was so right. It is something that money cannot always buy. Thanks for you astute comment, Coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    I can only agree with the first proverb, but the second one is incredibly thought-provoking. It seems to me to reflect the old question of whether our heart rules out heads/minds or vice versa in various matters. I love your quote in the above comment: ‘The mind is harder to control than the wind’ – how true is that! I do agree, too, that the heart offers us the kinder thoughts. Thank you for sharing this, Amanda. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Millie. The quote about the wind is a great saying and makes us remember we are terribly complex beings, and to tie in with the first proverb, I refer to the physical and mental / emotional aspects of our bodies. As for the heart versus the head, this perennial battle, for supremacy of thought, continues to be a popular theme of literature. Thanks for your comment. ♡

      Like

Comments are closed.