Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Proverbial thursdfly sml 3932Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

 

“Strive for progress, not perfection” –
Unknown Origin

“You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.
And you know what you know.
You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”
Dr. Seuss 

Something to Ponder About this Thursday

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in proverbial thursday, Quotes, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. “Zoals het klokje thuis klikt, klikt het nergens”.
    As the clock ticks at home it klicks nowhere!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I love them both, but the number one is my favorite. Perfection is not our’s, but progress? Definitely! We must give and share our best talents. We are at our best when we give our best and encourage others by setting an example.
    💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well put, Coffee! I think we have a duty to mankind to share our knowledge and talents, otherwise we lose our purpose. Thanks for your comment!

    Like

  4. Love Dr Seuss. Meaning of: “Zoals het klokje thuis klikt, klikt het nergens”.
    As the clock ticks at home it klicks nowhere!
    Nothing is better than home! Only the clock at home sounds the best

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Two very good quotes, both I can relate too like coffeegrounded said. But I think I like the first one a bit more. It’s so easy to get caught up in the goal, so easy to keep our eye on the prize – that is usually the motivating factor in the first place and why we start doing things…probably a reason why many of us forget to think about and appreciate the journey.

    Also, I believe perfection is illusive. As dancing violinist Lindsey Stirling said, “The greatest moment of your life will always be ahead of you”.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great reminders — especially the first! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.