Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking. 

I hope you will too.

The proverb this week comes from Cocoaupnorth:-

“Your attitude is like a box of crayons that colour your world…”

[Cocoa tells me it was written by Allen Klein and she found it on brainyquote.com]

Thanks Cocoa for allowing me to publish it here.

and some wise words, from The Dalai Lama –

“In the practice of tolerance, one’s enemy is the best teacher.”

Proverbial thursdfly sml 3932

Something to ponder About

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in proverbial thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    I like second quote a lot. Our enemy, or someone we don’t like really does test our patience at times, possibly teaching us to put up with and respect conflicting view points. Then again, our enemy can also be something we can’t see. Recently I fell ill with stomach ulcers and it’s a battle most days to eat and feel comfortable – my daily enemy there. Mind over matter to get food down and be well again and the lesson learnt here is that life isn’t always smooth sailing – often it’s out of our control. Hope you had a good week, Amanda 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mabel, I am so sorry to hear that you have been unwell. Stomach ulcers are not nice things to have and can be quite serious. Do look after yourself and take care with spicy, acid foods, (although I am sure you know all this already). As for the proverbs, enemies can of course be unseen, and they are doubly difficult to counteract and learn from. I do feel that controlling life is like trying to control the wind. It is not within our realm to control others, only internally how we think and act, so to me life is not necessarily controllable, only manageable. (There is my personal proverbial phrase for today!!) The more we fight for control, in order to ensure our need for security/stability is met, the more we can experience full on frustration and stress. Taking each issue as it comes, one at a time, and learning to ‘go’ with the ups and downs of the roller-coaster of life is a big challenge, but thinking this helps me through some tough times when some personal demons, (enemies) appear. I think enemies that are more readily seen can teach us many things, especially tolerance, simply because they usually approach life from a totally different perspective than ourselves. Understanding, or empathizing with (but not necessarily agreeing/condoning), a differing viewpoint or perspective, is tolerance, itself, don’t you think, Mabel? I actually find it difficult to articulate fully the full meaning of this proverb today….. I would really love to hear more of your thoughts in this matter, and also that of Poppy Currie who has some great philosophical viewpoints. https://vikingway.wordpress.com/ And I hope your week ahead is a much better one for you.

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      Thanks, Amanda. I could always use reminders to not eat spicy and acidic foods. Orange juice is always so tempting…

      I think you analysed the proverb very well, very deep. “controlling life is like trying to control the wind.” Excellent way to put it. On tolerance, I think that involves compromise at times. It’s not wise to have what we want or desire all the time – life doesn’t revolve around us all the time.

      Poppy has a great blog. Thanks for sharing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Orange juice….ah so good but so bad!! I have to drink the pulp free one as fresh juice gives me eczema! Thanks for your kind comments. Tolerance needs a compromise -very true and when one or two sides refuse to compromise it is intolerance itself. I think this may also lead to resentment if one side continually compromises?

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      Sorry to hear you get eczema from orange juice. I too get eczema, usually from stress and dry air. Interesting thought – one side compromising all the time. One might see the other as selfish then.

      Like

    • That is possible but I would hope that good communication could overcome this.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jollyt says:

    Yes, I wrote “Your attitude is like a box of crayons that color your world…”. It is from my book, The Healing Power of Humor.
    Allen Klein, http://www.allenklein.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cocoaupnorth says:

    I find quotes, proverbs and sayings profound too. I’m glad you found the quote by Klein as meaningful as I did. Attitude is certainly something to ponder about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    I love the image presented by the first quote. It reminds me of rainbows and happy, summer days. I think a happy and positive attitude to life can brighten up the dullest of days. As for the second quote, I believe it to be true. An enemy who puts our patience, strength and resilience to the test can probably seen as a very good teacher.

    Like

  5. Leya says:

    My favourite is the second one, but as usual they both are interesting. A Swedish film director and author, Kay Pollak, used to say, when lecturing, that difficult persons (enemies?) are always sent to test you. To try your patience and make you learn something new. Maybe he got it from The Dalai Lama and rephrased it for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like that one Ann-Christine. Another great saying!!

    Like

Comments are closed.