Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures.

prov thurs9

They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something. Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

“A child is a bridge to heaven.” Persian Proverb

During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.” – George Orwell

Proverbial sml

Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. Both of these are so beautiful, powerful and uplifting. Thank you for sharing them. 🙂

    Like

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    That Orwellian quote is brilliant. Love it. It takes a lot of courage to stand up to the majority, and a lot of risk too – you might be risking your entire slate and persona. In other words, you got a lot to lose. Either we lose our ego or we lose the trust in those around us when we are in such a situation…not sure if I’m making sense. Telling the truth versus living the lie – I often wonder why so many of us do the latter…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Like you Mabel, I loved the Orwellian quote as it made me think mostly about politics, whistle-blowers and political martyrs. In response to your comment, about why many of us choose to lie… I think it is often a matter of adhering to one’s principle for those who ‘swim against the tide’,( ietell the truth) Mabel! Some people can be extremely dogmatic, (in a good way), or they don’t do a very good job of concealing the truth, or even some may feel very wrong about pretending to be someone/thing they are not. And it could be this that motivates them to commit as Orwell says: revolutionary acts, perhaps? The really dogmatic ones have often given up their life for their particular cause…….
      You asked why many of us choose to live the lie…. it is easier this way, less waves ( in the short term), I think and they want to avoid trouble. Many of us tell small ‘white’lies – about minor matters or to save from hurting someone they love or something they care about. However, I do prefer the truth as it is much easier and simpler, for me. I fear getting caught out much more than whatever negative consequence might be for any wrongdoing. Owning up is a mature and brave thing to do in certain circumstances. But fear is a powerful emotion and often overrides reason! Then again, think of Julian Assange and what the Orwellian quote may mean to him! Interesting….

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      Politics most certainly creep up when we sit back and reflect on an Orwellian quote. The political and media arenas…two different arenas where lies are told all the time for the sake of garnering support and eyeballs.

      I too prefer the truth. As the saying goes, hurt now or hurt later. But so true, sometimes a white lie seems to be the wiser choice of words when someone is in a vulnerable position. Lying to one-self, though, is something else altogether.

      Like

    • “for the sake of garnering support and eyeballs.”… Lol… I love that expression! [Smile] Lying to oneself: I am not sure how one does that? For surely, you know underneath that it is a lie. And yet, there are some who refuse to believe and live in denial of something. What is it that makes them see the truth? Changing perspective? Hard times and hard facts? No alternative way out?

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      The word “eyeballs” – I actually learnt that in journalism class a few years ago. I thought it was hip 😀 In regards to lying to one self – sometimes we might act rationally when we know it won’t make us happy.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ah I see. Practicality rules again!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    Both quotes are very short today, but very effective Who can deny the wonder of a child, or childhood in general. I suppose, if we view this one as having religious/spiritual meaning, perhaps it could also mean that acually producing a child/procreating fulfils our purpose in life (as seen by many religions.) As for the Orwell quote, so much has been said about it above, which I can only agree with. 🙂
    My cake turned out very nicely – thank you so much for the recipe, Amanda. I cut into it whilst it was still warm and it was gorgeous and spicy. I adore those kind of cakes warm. I’m not sure whether cloves would have made much differnce to the flavour. I had none in you see, so I went ahead without them I also used vanilla yoghurt instead of buttermilk because our local supermarket had none yesterday. I’m very happy with the outcome, but will try it with cloves and buttermilk next time, just to see.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.