Monday Mystery Photo – Last MMP – The Big Prawn, Ballina

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object on my blog. I encourage you to leave a comment, if you think you might know where this mystery photo, was taken. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog. Guest contributions are always welcome. Simply drop me an email or leave a comment indicating you would like to submit a photograph.

Where would you find this statue and whose backside am I grabbing?

mmphotosept7

Two weeks ago the last Monday Mystery was ‘The Big Prawn,’ prior to its renovation.

It is located in Ballina, New South Wales, on the eastern coast of Australia.

Well done to Master of Something Yet and LeDrakeNoir for guessing this obscure structure correctly.

The Big Prawn was saved from demolition due to vehement locals and is now looking spiffy and ready for action here

Australia has a colourful history with presenting large sculptures as tourist attraction:

See Big Things for the gargantuan Mango, Koala, Pineapple, Banana etc…. It is a wonder we haven’t got the Big Fruit Salad….

What a strange mob we are…………

Monday Mystery Photo

Monday Mystery

Something to Ponder About

 

 

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last MMP – The Big Prawn, Ballina

  1. Perhaps Nepal bordering Tibet? And perhaps the first man to reach the top of Mnt Everest

    Like

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    The lovely lady I recognize, but the sculpture beside – and background too, I strong doubts about – great challenge, Amanda… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ledrakenoir says:

    At the area of Aoraki or Mount Cook as I know New Zealand’s highest mountain – haven’t seen it “live” yet – but I will… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Amanda. I´m Monica / NatureFootstep. You added a photo to catching light meme on FaceBook. I see you have a blog and do art as well. Tomorrow I open NF DAM. That´s a nart meme. You are welcome to check it out and join in. Catching light is on teh same blog but opens mondays.
    http://nfverk.blogspot.com

    Like

Comments are closed.