Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Balestrand

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object on my blog. I encourage you to leave a comment, if you think you might know where this mystery photo, was taken. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog. Guest contributions are always welcome. Simply drop me an email or leave a comment indicating you would like to submit a photograph.

mmp sept29Where in the World am I today?

Last week I was in Balestrand, at St Olaf’s Church, which I had previously thought was built by the German Kaiser during his many sojourns there. However, in checking the facts, which I’ve quoted below, it seems it had a far different origin. The church has a fabulous vista over one of the world’s most picturesque fjords, photos of which I will post at a future time. Again it was Gerard who guessed correctly and also, Tina from Everyday Life in Vienna recognized the location as being, Norway. Well done!

MMP Sept21

This church built in a stave church style was completed in 1897. It belongs to the Church of England and is under the spiritual administration of the Bishop of Gibraltar who is in charge of all Anglican churches on the European mainland. The church was erected in memory of Margaret Sophie Green Kvikne – a vicar’s daughter from Yorkshire, England – who came to Norway as a mountaineering pioneer. She married Knut Kvikne. It was said that she never felt at ease with the Lutheran rituals in Norwegian churches. She died in 1894, but at her death bed, Knut promised her to build an Anglican church. The church building was completed in three years.

[Source: http://www.visitnorway.com/uk/product/?pid=32567]

Monday Mystery

Monday Mystery Photo – Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Balestrand, Monday mystery photo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Balestrand

  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Excellent captured – if you think you hear a strange noise – so it’s just me who thinks so hard that you hear a rattling sound… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    I’m hopeless at guessing these, Amanda, but it looks like somewhere in Norway to me (Although I suppose it could be in Iceland, which is also mountainous.) It looks like a lake, or a fjord like the Sogne of Hardanger fjord. Or even somewhere around Bergen (no town showing, though). Wild guesses, because I really don’t know. It’s too mountainous for Finland, though I suppose it could be somewhere in Sweden. Well, I’d better stop before I go round the world with my guesses.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was originally going to have a guess at Lillehammer, setting of a winter Olympics and the US comedy Lillyhammer. But thinking about your clue, it must be somewhere in Switzerland. BTW, that’s a brilliant photo, what a reflection!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the concept of setting a mystery photo or object for people to guess at. Brilliant idea Amanda 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.