31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing – Day 10 ‘Ready’

The 31 day challenge is to writing for five minutes ( or thereabouts) on a given topic, each day. The topic for Day 10 is “Ready”

8.20 am

wpid-wp-1443948548820.jpeg

“Are you ready yet?” My other half calls, anxious to get going on our weekly shopping expedition. But I am tapping away on the keyboard writing yet another blog post. “Won’t be long,” I distractedly shout back down the hall.

But time has slowed and I am engrossed in getting my opinions down amid the jumble of words that spin about in my head. And I do dislike shopping for groceries, it is such a mind – numbingly boring task that my other half likes to repeat each week. As if it is the modern day equivalent of some religious ritual. Each week, I have to grit my teeth to prep myself for the grocery ritual, by first visiting a delightful cafe run by a Venetian man with a deep baritone voice, named Aladdino, who makes THE very best Italian hot chocolate! Some consolation for the battle ahead. And it is like a battlefield: the stainless steel shopping trolleys our ‘cavalry steeds’ and the supermarket aisles, a place where a cavalry style charge occurs a little too frequently, particularly during those red light specials! Each week shoppers try to emulate the reality show TV cooks in a vain attempt to keep their tastebuds on their toes, (or should that be tips?), whilst balancing the budget. Prices continue to spiral upwards, forcing us to buy generically branded cheaper and “crappier” items from dubious manufacturers. Convenience/ready-made meals means it may soon only be the elderly members of the community that remember what a virgin vegetable actually looks like prior to peeling, slicing and dicing and wrapped in plastic bags lined with preservatives! But we all have to eat, or face a riot on the home front, particularly from the adolescent members!

“How much longer are you going to be? ” The disembodied voice filtering down the hallway suddenly drags me back to suburban reality. It has happened again:  I have become engrossed in another blog post and am still not ready.

Ready or Not: Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing – Day 10 ‘Ready’

  1. milliethom says:

    I totally agree with you about grocery shopping. But I have an advantage. My husband is quite happy to do the weekly ‘big shop’ on his own!. I happily top up anything he’s missed – or considered unnecessary – at the local store in the next village to us. I often walk there of a morning. All you say about fighting your way round a big supermarket, rising prices and choice of fresh goods is so true. We get our fresh produce from the market in Newark. Now, outdoor market -shopping I do like!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are lucky to have someone who helps you shopping. Shopping to me is always an issue. I make a list and would quickly buy and go home. I am not a good shopper. This writing on the PC is very time consuming – as soon as I start I can’t stop.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.