Five Minutes of Summer – Free Writing Day 27 – PERHAPS

wpid-wp-1443948548820.jpeg

10.34am

PERHAPS!

Perhaps, I will grow up to be a movie star or a nurse.

Perhaps, I will travel the world when I am big and all grown –

Perhaps!

And then –

Perhaps, I will walk to school each and every day, run wild in the streets at weekends, with few time limits and even fewer parental eyes.

Perhaps, life will always be simplistic and there will only ever be friends and enemies –

Perhaps!

But then –

Perhaps, I will decide to never marry and live an indulgent, carefree life aboard a yacht floating the waterways aimlessly from place to place –

Perhaps, I will have a husband and five children and be up to my eyeballs in snotty noses and wet nappies.

Perhaps!

Then Again –

Perhaps, I will have an abusive husband, end up almost penniless in the hospital’s Emergency room and lose my self -esteem.

Perhaps, I will have to slowly rebuild my life and my identity, whilst forever remembering the scars-

Perhaps!

And then –

Perhaps, I will find a kindred soul and a kind family and be content.

Perhaps, I will find my passion in life that takes me places I never dreamed –

Perhaps!

So then –

Perhaps, I will learn that one must turn your face towards the sun for then the shadows will always be behind you.

Perhaps, I will find that expectations and disappointment go hand in hand –

Perhaps!

Then again –

Perhaps, I will find that dementia steals away the memories and I rest tucked away in the corner of an aged care facility, living out fantasies that won’t come to pass .

Perhaps, my time will be over and I have to make terms with the next journey –

Perhaps!

And –

Perhaps, the mysteries and purpose of life will always elude me.

Perhaps, just perhaps, I will discover that there is never certainty, only Perhaps!

wpid-2015-10-10-16.12.32.jpg.jpg

Five Minutes of Free Writing Challenge for October is coming to a conclusion but you can find all other topics for this month  if you click on the image below

october-topics

Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in FMFW and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Five Minutes of Summer – Free Writing Day 27 – PERHAPS

  1. A great summation of what life can entail. Perhaps most of it is in the ‘perhaps’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sonel says:

    Excellent Amanda! There’s definitely no certainty. Perhaps we can only do the best we can of today. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nowathome says:

    Perhaps that is what life is all about!! Choices….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re 5 mins of ‘perhaps’ are brilliant Amanda 🙂 I’m always most impressed by anyone who can write freely for 5 mins about any topic. I struggle to write enough about topics I really like!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      Thanks so very much. I often struggle with writing too and some of the topics I can’t think of anything to write!! But this one worked out okay. It is finding the idea first then just blabbing out on the keyboard. Sometimes I think what I write is total rubbish but other times it seems to work. Why don’t you see what happens if you did try it? There is always the delete button!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I should try it sometime Amanda, you’re right, it might improve my writing by not thinking to hard about it! LOL! Seriously though, I will give it a go at some point 🙂 If in a years time I can write a quarter as well as you do, then it will be a worth while exercise.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      I am flattered, thanks ever so much, Andy! I am surprised when someone says this as I always compare myself unfavourably to other bloggers like Milliethom and Tara who have the ability to entrance me with their words. You and I should start some kind of challenge between us for writers who think they are not writers!! What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds like quite a good idea Amanda 🙂 And I know what you mean about comparing yourself with other bloggers, I find myself doing that all the time. But at least it means that we are constantly trying to improve ourselves 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. milliethom says:

    I’m really impressed with this, Amanda. It’s so well written and so thought-provoking. What an intriguing word ‘perhaps’ actually is. It gives us so many angles to explore – about ourselves and our our choices and about life in general. I love the possibilities /choices you mention here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      Thanks so very much, Millie. Sometimes it is much easier to write, whilst at other times, I struggle. This idea just flowed out and really it was the word itself that triggered these thoughts. I am often fascinated with those critical turning points in one’s life when life might take one course or another that is diametrically opposed!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • milliethom says:

      Your flowing ideas made very interesting reading. You made some very valid points for us to mull over.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.