Proverbial Thursday – Global Proverbs and Quotes

Proverbial sml

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

[“Livet er fullt av store ting for dem som evner a omgas de sma ting fortrolig”]

Life is full of great things for those who have the innate ability to enjoy the small. – Norwegian proverb

And from a great author who recently passed away here is a quote that I really believe is so true, especially in my case:

“You can have more than one home. You can carry your roots with you, and decide where they grow.”~ Henning Mankell   *

*Many Thanks to Cocoa for this quote cocoaupnorth.wordpress.com ]

Something to Ponder About this Thursday

prov thurs

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in proverbial thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Global Proverbs and Quotes

  1. cicorm says:

    Nice quotes! Thanks for sharing, folkart! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Two very thoughtful quotes this week, Amanda. When we enjoy the small things, we learn to appreciate what and who we have. The small things are the big and grand things at the end of the day. What I’ve learn recently is that if those around us who matter to us aren’t happy, we might still not be satisfied if we hit that big milestone or achievement we’ve always been dreaming of. Enjoy the small, focus on the present and live in the moment. Soak up the sun and warmth, so to speak.

    As a third culture kid and someone who grew up in different places, I can relate a lot to the second proverb. Home often lies in the small things around us, perhaps in some inanimate things we’ve had all our lives or perhaps in the relationships we make around us. Whenever I’m away from home, when I feel lonely I like to look up at the sky…and then feel at home because no matter where we are in the world, all of us look at the same sky.

    Like

  3. Forestwoodfolkart says:

    Mabel, that is such a beautiful comment and very much appreciated.
    What a comforting feeling to look up at the sky and feel a common bond with humanity and the whole world, especially when you are feeling homesick. There is so much conflict in our world and tunnel vision: ie. viewing the world through the differences between ourselves and others, rather than finding any common ground. I feel sure we all have much more in common if we could communicate our similarities better. Furthermore, differences between us are things to be celebrated rather than feared! What do you think?

    Regarding the first quote, I find it difficult to be happy when there is one of my close friends or family members having a hard time. It is not so easy to separate the thoughts from my heart, and as you said – try to live in the moment: I can remind myself it can be a bit like watching and taking note of a small stick being swept along a stream; I give it my full attention and focus, but then let it pass out of sight, as it washes downstream, and not go running after it. The proverbs often reinforce this: Everything, like bad weather, passes.

    Like

  4. I just love that Norwegian proverb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It sums up exactly my outlook in life 🙂 Too many people don’t appreciate the small things in life. Life isn’t about big flashy cars, expensive holidays and eating out in posh restaurants……………………it’s about appreciating everything around us, whether that’s family, friends or just the natural world around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      So very true Andy! So very, very true. One can gather all these things in life but still feel empty or not content. Ev3n though it is a Norwegian proverb, it also gas some Buddhist concepts. I do like to have nice things but they are not thr most important things. In a crisis, who do you turn to? Family , people, solitude or nature. Sleek cars and posh restaurants are not much help in a desperate moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love both of these so very much.

    The less I have, the more I have. Within my heart I am a minimalist.

    And, I have moved over twenty times in my life. Everywhere I found myself, I found home. The secret? Open your mind to learning about your surroundings and let the first surrounding be a new friendship. You will never want for anything if you have sheltered yourself in love.

    I have been gifted by everyone of my friends. They are irreplaceable and more important than anything money can purchase.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      From reading your words, Coffee I can see there is power and strength behind what you say. You have embraced change and found the positive in each place. I think you truly do appreciate the small things.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      I love reading your comments Coffee. In fact all the commenters on Proverbial Thursday are so insightful and absorbing. I look foward to hearing your thoughts each week. Thanks so much.☺

      Like

  6. milliethom says:

    The Norwegian proverb is superb. It also reminds me of that song, ‘Little things mean a lot …’ I can’t remember who sang it, though. How often do we moan and complain about things we haven’t got – and think we want – and quite overlook the myriad things we actually have – and take for granted?
    The second proverb is also very true. I’ve moved around and lived in several different towns/villages in my life but have never lost touch with my roots. They do come with me and mingle with new neighbours and friends. i suppose we’re all a product of our heritage and upbringing and if the latter was a happy one, it’s good to treasure it and keep it close to us forever.

    Like

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      I hope I can reduce the clutter and live more simply as I get older, Millie. Keeping a few special things and enjoying the intangible pleasures of life. The proverb I feel reminds us to do so.
      The point you make about the second one is also thought provoking when you mentioned “if it was a happy one’….. We are genetic beings with so many characteristics that are a product of generations of heritage, and whilst most can be and are proud, it makes me think for some people it must also be difficult if they are furiously trying to forget or even deny their roots.

      Like

  7. Sonel says:

    I totally agree with you there Amanda. Must be why I love quotes and proverbs so much as well and it’s always great seeing your lovely posts and the beautiful ones you chose to share with us. 😀

    The first quote made me think of this one by Kurt Vonnegut — ‘Enjoy the little things in life because one day you`ll look back and realize they were the big things.’

    I also love the home quote as well. Great post and thanks for sharing. 😀 ♥

    Like

    • Forestwoodfolkart says:

      My pleasure Sonel. Thanks ever so much. I actually was just over at your blog reading about the wolf spider and then your comment popped up!!!
      The Vonnegut quote is an excellent one and very, very true. We can take things for granted, and then regret it when it is too late to change.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sonel says:

      You’re very welcome Amanda and thanks for the lovely visit as well. 😀

      We do for sure. ♥

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.