Epically Awesome Award

If you were going to groan at the sight of the word ‘award,’ then look away now….

01cfc1e2-116e-46e8-81cf-e6e04f24fe2c

Whilst I do accept blogging awards, I never place expectations on any of my nominees to accept or continue these awards. In nominating them, I am not presupposing they will, or even have to, pass the award on. So relax….

I also like to change the rules/conditions about a bit and create my own individual logo and interpretations. When I bestow an award, it is to indicate my appreciation of the contribution the nominees make to my time on WordPress, my sense of community and finally, to introduce other bloggers to new blog,s so that we can  build our global connections and communities, a bit like this….

Royalty Free Clipart Image of a Child Pyramid

So, thank you Millie from MillieThom for the nomination. Millie, is the sort of blogger friend everyone wants. She takes the time, often time she doesn’t have, to read all the posts within her blogging community, and comment thoroughly and thoughtfully. Her comments are always delightful to read, and not only that, they are insightful, kind and peppered with interesting information. Millie is also a published writer, and one gets a glimpse of her extraordinary talent in the flash fiction series on her blog. She has a way of garnering one’s attention from the first word till the last. Her stories are good, very good.

1295_happy_pencil_with_folder_049_tnb

Thanks also to Ineke, from IScrap2  for this nomination. Ineke is a multi-talented person and one of the few bloggers I have met, in person, and one of the few that is in my time zone, (roughly)! And she is just as sweet, just as gentle and, as intelligent, as her blog suggests. She is an excellent quilter and photographer, a teacher, a writer, and someone who I felt a special kinship with almost the instant we met! We live in different countries and an ocean separates us, but through the blog and social media, we can still communicate frequently! And we both have a fondness for Schnauzer dogs! We may be a little biased, but to us they are clearly the best dogs in the world.

New Zealand blog friend

Standard Schnauzers

The blogs I am nominating for this award are as follows:

Royalty Free Clipart Image of a Woman With a Disabled ChildTara from After the rain is someone who writes like I would like to be able to write. She constantly inspires me with her witty, topical and environmentally friendly posts. Oh! I so wish I could write like Tara!  And she manages to do this, while looking after a wee one. I am unsure whether she accepts awards but darn-it, I am nominating her anyway, as she is Epically awesome!

A VikinPreview Imageg Saga – Poppy is simply so inspirational: a lone sailor traversing the world, documenting her life, “off the grid,” sailing in her boat: “Free” – what she has encountered and overcome is mind-blowing. She is also a writer….there is a recurring theme here, it seems.

Drake from LeDrakeNoir- Drake blows me away with his far -reaching knowledge of places around the world and his ability to remember, retrieve and deduce information on a geographic location, all from one of my humble snapshots, or from one that a guest blogger has sent in. Can you beat, the almost unbeatable champion, Drake in guessing the location of the mystery photo, each week?

MabelKwong  -Mabel is awesome because she builds bridges of multiculturalism in Australia, whilst challenging stereotypes of Asian Australians. In an increasingly divisive and intolerant world, Mabel is bucking the trend and deserves this award nomination, if for no other reason, (and there is many), but so that anyone, who hasn’t yet discovered her writing thus far, can do so now. I enjoy reading Mabel’s thought-provoking posts and her wonderfully detailed and intelligent responses to my Proverbial Thursday posts. Mabel “gets” me and my penchant for proverbs and quotes. Whilst she is on a blogging break atm, I look forward to her future posts. Epically Awesome, Mabel!

Gerard from Oosterman Treats Blog – I feel sure that Gerard is not into blog awards, but nevertheless I wish to introduce my blogging community to his very worthwhile, humorous, articulate, cutting, provocative, and thoroughly readable blog. Go check it out, so you can see what I mean.

Illustration of A Lady Coach on white background

Rules of the award are:

1. You are awesome; tell us why.

Whaaaat???Stop right there….New Zealand TeMata

Seriously… I can’t do that…..

Skip

2. You are my friend; tell us about other friends.

Does this mean Blogger friends? Hmmm… I did that above, and already do that with pingbacks as most of them participate each week in my Proverbial Thursday posts and travel trivia photo: Monday Mystery Photo.  I will let their blog speak for themselves.

3. Be creative, but it’s okay if you are having trouble with this one.

Cool, see blog logo above….

You don’t have to tell me twice! I love being invited to be creative.

4. There are no direct questions to answer; let yourself run wild!

Okay – No dramas, I can do that …. easy….Still thinking what to write here….

Epically Awesome, or Epic ‘Awesomness’, the blog award logo said….

Whaaat?…….

My eyes went immediately to it!!

Noooo!

awesome-award

Is it just me?

What happened to the ‘e’ in awesomeness? Such the word that it is…

“There’s a spelling error in it,” my spelling control centre screamed…. (it’s the proof reader in me). “Let it go,” I said silently to myself!

Anyway, I digress…. Let me talk about What Awesomeness with an ‘e’might look like..? and….

I certainly hope it wasn’t #3, below, I was nominated for….. tee hee….

from Urban dictionary:

awesomeness

1. An unmeasurable amount of awesomenimity something can produce.

2. Something that qualifies as awesome.

3. With sarcastic use, means that something is not awesome at all. A lower and calmer tone of voice is used, and is generally followed by derogatory physical action such as a shrug or eye rolling.

1 and 2.
Me: “I found 50 bucks on the street! Let’s go get wasted!!”
You: “Awesomeness!!”

3.
You: “I’m so happy to be going with my family on vacation, where I can’t party…”
Me: “Awesomeness…” *rolleyes*

5. Thank the blogger who nominated you.

Goes without saying, doesn’t it?! Completed on Scrapydo2 and MillieThom

Royalty Free Clipart Image of a Woman Reading an Award

6. Notify your nominees –see #5 and #2

01cfc1e2-116e-46e8-81cf-e6e04f24fe2c

 Something Epically Awesome to Ponder About

Save

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Epically Awesome Award

  1. Ha ha, you caught out the designer! Thank you for your awesome description of our friendship. I think we have a lot in common. Won’t it be awesome if Millie could also visit us one day. We really have to plan a big meeting together then!

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    I LOVE awards almost as much as the Monday mystery photo 🙂 Thank you for nominating me and for your lovely words. There is still a part of me that thinks I’m not very good, even though I write for a living, so reading your comment really gives me a boost. You would have been on my nomination list as well 🙂

    Like

  3. I won an award some time ago but I lost it. I think I was supposed to do something in return but was unable to follow all the prompts. Thank you for mentioning my blog. You made me happy.

    Like

    • Most of these awards are generally designed to be passed on to other bloggers and the cycle continues like that. Some people I think are motivated of giving awards by getting pingbacks, but that is far from my intention, so please don’t feel I wish you to do anything in particular with it. Just wanted to acknowledge your very different, entertaining and interesting blog!
      The awards are a lot of work at times, and some people don’t want them at all and have an “award free blog”

      Like

  4. Leya says:

    Congratulations! You are so good at this, Amanda! Now I have some new ones to visit too – a treat!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. milliethom says:

    All I can say, Amanda, is that you have written an epically awesome post for this Epically Awesome Award! The illustrations are great, and I love your dictionary references and epically awesome illustrative sentences.The incorrect spelling of ‘awesomeness’ on the award is a bit odd, to say the least, but, in the spirt in which the award requirements are written, I think we just have to go with it. Lovely photo of you and Ineke, as well as the one of you displaying ‘an unmeasurable amount of awesomenimity’. And your own design for the award logo is perfect. You definitely derserve the ‘Epically Awesome Award for Epic Awesomeness’ (with an ‘e’ in the right place). Hugs to you for the lovely things you have said about me. I’m blushing now.

    Like

    • The harmless jib at the spelling error is all in jest, Millie. I can ‘go with it’ – and for goodness sake, everyone makes errors, even me and my son who are “spelling Nazis.” I am glad you liked the logo, it was fun creating it. And all the things I said about you: you deserve them all, and more!!!

      Like

    • milliethom says:

      Oh, I do know you weren’t being nasty about it, Amanda, I thought it made for fun reading. And crikey… I make more typos than most people. The mistake just struck me as funny, and the way the questions were phrased made it a fun post to respond to. Sorry if you thought I sounded disapproving. I didn’t mean it that way. Honest! 😀

      Like

    • No, that is cool, Millie. I might be over-sensitive to spelling errors and it did make for something different to post about. But I need to work on my grammar. A Grammar Nazi I will never make!! (I just went back and update a few syntax errors in that post!!) I tend to do that especially, on my phone when I post messages. Type it, hit send and then have to edit or re-send because I have not double checked the predictive text suggestions. There is a few funny posts around about predictive text on social media, and the incorrect things that have been sent!!! Do you proof read your own manuscripts? I once did some beta reader for a Danish writer who wrote mystery stories in English and I really hope I did her book justice with my Australian corrections!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • milliethom says:

      I go through my manuscripts very carefully several times before sending them to a professional editor I have found to be great. I’m lucky in that he finds little to correct. Most errors that occur in my books are typos I’ve somehow managed to put in after Doug has edited them! Seriously, how stupid is that. I know they weren’t there when Doug sent them back because I’ve checked. I think the books are almost error free now. I say ‘almost’ because I just might find a few more at some stage. I hope not, but I know me and typos.
      I’m sure your corrections would have been fine. It would depend on which ‘English’ the rest of her book was in – Australian, American or British. E.g. words like travelling/traveling and honour/honor etc.

      Like

    • It is funny how the mind passes over a typo at times, and other times it sticks out like a sore thumb. When I have written pieces for publication, (magazine articles), I re-read them what seems like a thousand times, changing a bit here and there, or changing a word, or a phrase, even after all the errors are eliminated. I don’t know how I would cope with editing a whole book. I would never get it finished! No doubt your Teacher expertise has become useful in this regard and has helped you polish the product well before submission. Yes, I think she wrote in British style with a Danish flair.

      Like

    • milliethom says:

      I really enjoy a good mystery, so this sounds a good one for me to read. I’d love to write one myself and it would be a good challenge for me. As for self editing, I edit as I go along anyway, which most writers don’t. So my first draft has far fewer mistakes than some. When I start to write each day, the first thing I do is to re-read the last section of what I wrote the day before. It helps me to move on with the story, too. But once the book is finished, editing looks at the overall picture, how the plot works, how characters interact and whether the dialogue is suitable etc. I’m sure if you’ve had articles and such like published, you’ll find.writing a novel reasonably easy – and editing it, too. You are a good writer and have a nice flowing style. Grammar and punctuation are not a problem for you, so you just need to work out a really good plot.
      I’m writing this on my Kindle (horror of horrors!) So you’ll probably find lots of typos.
      I’m off to bed now, so I’ll stop rambling. It’s been really nice talking to you today. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Isn’t the internet amazing? I just love all the connections a person can make! My kindle is not of the kind that one can write on, sadly….. And thank you ever so much for the compliment on my writing. If only you knew how much time I spent writing those magazine articles, then you would perhaps not suggest that I would write a book, lol! Editing a draft is much more involved than just checking for spelling and grammar. A complicated job indeed. The author I mentioned used to write short stories and novels, I think they are still on Amazon. (I purchased them with my kindle) but her name is Dorthe Hummelshoj Jakobsen http://www.amazon.com/Dorte-Hummelshoj-Jakobsen/e/B0050ZJGUU

    Like

  7. Mabel Kwong says:

    I am very humbled to be nominated for another award from you again, Amanda. It is really very kind of you. Awards aren’t a means to an end, but yes, they certainly are a way to show appreciation and to introduce each other to other bloggers. Thank you for reading my blog on all things multiculturalism, Australia and racism. Often I wonder what makes people stop to read my posts…they are quite lengthy and a lot of the topics I write are rather sensitive. A lot of the time it baffles me.

    I really like all the graphics and photos you used in this post. The one of you standing on the rock with hands up in the air – such a victorious pose 😀 Certainly looking forward to checking out all the blogs you’ve nominated here. Seems that quite a few of them are into the write stuff, so that should be interesting. Like you, I like being creative. But what I learnt that you can’t force creativity. So many times I’ve sat down saying I’d work on my book, and no inspiration hits. It tends to hit when I’m most busiest doing other things, how ironic 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, Mabel! I know what you mean about the creative blocks. This happens all the time with me with my artwork. So how do I tackle it? With difficulty!!! If nothing comes into my head, that is when I start to research a bit and then inspiration hits me. It may not be exaxctly the design I was researching for, but I just go with it anyway. With art, it is easy to research by looking at images to gain inspiration, but writing is harder. Sometimes it is best to walk away and try to write later. Writing seems to work best for me first thing in the morning. Maybe the deep or REM sleep helps? I struggle much less with writing than with art. But reading other things does help to get the creativity going too. On those days when nothing comes, I have to consider them as “days off” when I can just chill out and not “do” anything, which is difficult…..

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      Hat’s off to you for going with a design that doesn’t exactly float your boat when it comes to making art. It depends. Some of us find writing more difficult than other forms of creativity. With writing, if you don’t know what to write about, then it’s hard to do research…you don’t know where to start. But you have to start somewhere.

      I find that if I am working on one writing project at a time, the better my focus is and the better my ideas flow.

      Like

    • The wordpress reader is great for showing a variety of topics that are discussed. There is always inspiration there. I cover quite a range of topics on my blogs, whilst others keep to their theme. Perhaps this means it is harder to keep ideas for new posts? Have you ever asked your blog community what they would like to read about?

      Like

    • Mabel Kwong says:

      Perhaps it depends. If we love a certain theme so much, then I’m sure we’re forever bouncing ideas around that. With a ride range of topics, we might be able to pick from a variety of issues to talk about…but then again, how much do we really know about each topic?

      I’ve asked that question a couple of times in my blog posts. No one really offered any suggestions 😀

      Like

    • I am surprised no one responded but then I guess that could also mean that they are very happy with the content you post?

      Like

  8. ledrakenoir says:

    Thanks a lot, really do appreciate your so too kind words so much indeed – I really enjoyed my visits at “your home” here so much – and love your challenges, no matter if I can figure them out or not… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.